mattdavis

 

It is spring, and summer is getting boistrous and rowdy, pushing in. I am in Walsall, walking towards the Arboretum with future housemate Jackson Five. The weather is stunning, and a football match has congealed. We’re excited! We’ve bought daysavers, and the day is saved. We’re heroes, and I haven’t even taken my shirt off yet! What else is there to achieve? I could be a sidekick. And Jackson loves getting kicked in the side! But it’s a bit of a step backwards isn’t it? And not in a silky football way I could use later. We mosey on over and find Christian Union chumps already kicking a ball around, like complete chumps. I love chumps. Not as much as when they were 10p. I look around, and decide it’s time to bring the ace.

 

I take my shirt off.

 

No women come over.

 

 

I put my shirt back on. As CU Helen comes over. CU Helen. The first person I met at the CU. The long-serving squadron member that never dies, and provides a fresh and very talkative face to every loosely-CU-based event. It’s Femiginge’s big birthday chump, and Helen’s in full chumping-the-guests flow.

 

“Hi Dan!”

 

I smile. I haven’t seen any CU folk in a while thanks to my placement shifts. And Helen is a CU folk that has always been very nice to me.

 

“Hi.”

 

“How was placement?”

 

I smile, before realising that something strange has happened. Something that I did not expect. And something that Helen did not expect.

 

There is a hand on my belly.

 

Helen’s hand.

 

Erm. Right. So…. right. Bit random. Helen must have seen my belly and is trying to help hold it in. It’s a bold move, and feels like when oldschoolchum Hunk Matt Davis saw a car coming and accidentally grabbed my bum to stop me crossing the road. I haven’t seen him in ages. This must be him!

 

“Erm…. thanks Matt.”

 

Helen looks at me confusedly, before noticing her hand and removing it.

 

“Oh, sorry about that, Dan. Bit random.”

 

I smile.

 

“….Did you just call me Matt?”

 

I evade. Deftly.

 

“Yeah.”

 

Silence.

 

“So… what’s the plan for today?”

 

“We’re hanging out in the Arboretum, and then going to Femiginge’s for pizza tonight.”

 

I smile, before hanging out in the Arboretum, and going to Femiginge’s for pizza tonight. I burst into the room like a child trying to fit into his dinner, and scan the floor. The lack of floor. I decide to grab a slice and risk my life trying to fit myself into a single buttock’s space between a wall and a stranger. I look around, and see Jackson standing by the doorway having a lovely conversation.

 

I sigh.

 

I love lovely conversations. But I am not within talking distance of anychumpy I know or care about. I pull out my phone, and decide to take a long time to check that I actually don’t have any messages or any games on my phone. I sigh, and pick up a balloon.

 

“DAN! NOOOOO!!!!”

 

I look up, as does everybody in the room. Someone has just shouted at me. Which has been unusual ever since I grew taller than everyone else in the county. I follow the trail of fixed faces. They’re all looking at someone on the opposite side of the room. Someone who’s providing a fresh and very talkative face to this loosely-CU-based event.

 

“You OK, Helen?”

 

“Dan!!!! Don’t do it!!!”

 

Do what?

 

“Do what?”

 

“Don’t you dare pop that balloon!!!”

 

I smile. If I did, she’d never hear it with this many people filling up the room.

 

“What? Like this?”

 

I squeeze the balloon ever so slightly, with no intention of popping it.

 

“DAN!!! I’M NOT BEING FUNNY!!!”

 

I smile. She’s being pretty funny. I toss the balloon away and the party gets back into full meat feast-y swing. But I’ve had an idea! I really want to pop a balloon now. Not to be mean. Just because I haven’t popped one in ages, and it is quite satisfying. I look at Helen. She’s always been nice to me. She even stopped me crossing the road when that car was coming in the Arboretum earlier today. She saved my life. I owe her. I can’t go rubbing her phobia in her face, because the static would be even funnier, and she’s been funny enough today.

 

I decide to be respectful.

 

And to pop a balloon.

 

In the corridor.

 

I stand up, and edge my way towards the doorway, making sure I squeeze Jackson’s bum on the way to freak him out. He reacts, and I giggle. And look forward to this moment. This beautiful balloonsplosion. This is going to be amazing.

 

I throw a balloon onto the floor, and plot my steps.

 

I run forward.

 

And jump.

 

And land on it.

 

And fall off it.

 

And have another go, when it finally pops, and is much louder than I expected in the empty corridor. Suddenly the front room goes silent, and Jackson’s voice bounds through the hall.

 

“What? Why are you all looking me? That wasn’t me!!”

 

I laugh, and pop my head round the corner. Helen does not look happy. She looks really unhappy. She may have heard that pop. I decide to go back into the corridor where it’s safe.

 

“Hi Dan, did you just pop a balloon?”

 

Femiginge has arrived, and is doing a teacher voice and face.

 

“Erm…. may…be….”

 

I get told off.

 

What a chump.

 

 

Leave a Reply

